Happy times with Macarons

30 Nov

Macarons are delightful.

Well, making them is anyway (I only really like eating a small selection of flavours).

Now I must stop to make myself clear. When I talk about macarons, I mean french macarons and not macaroons (which are those chewy coconut food items).

Recently I’ve become slightly infatuated with reading about them, making them and looking at them (they’re really quite attractive).

(Image Source: http://www.flickr.com/photos/45436569@N00/429127415/)

One day, when I visit France I’m going to visit the shop (or one of) of Pierre Herme, because apparently he makes amazing macarons, and I desperately want to try one (or all) of them.

I’ve attempted making macarons a few times now.

The first time I tried a recipe I found on David Lebovitz’s blog. It was for chocolate macarons and was remarkably delicious, however I think I was a little too gentle with the meringue and so they ended up being a little too puffy. Also, at this stage I didn’t have a food processor, so my almond meal wasn’t at all ground fine enough, making the surface of the macarons look like they had a terrible skin disease (it wasn’t catching). Although the overall apperance of the chocolate macarons left much to be desired, they got consumed in a remarkably short period of time. Next time I make them, for my sister’s engagement party, they’ll look and taste wonderful…I hope.

My second attempt I used a recipe I found randomly on the internet (I cannot remember where it was from). At this stage I hadn’t worked out I was being too gentle with the meringue and so again I had puffy macarons (this time purple coloured blueberry ones and orange coloured orange ones). These ones actually looked quite comical (sorry I have no photos) as they were small, puffy and brightly coloured (like obese, floosie cookies). Although they didn’t come out quite right they were again consumed almost immediately.

After becoming slightly frustrated that my macarons weren’t coming out like the pretty pictures I so admired (glossy with a little foot), I did a great deal more research before I attempted them again. I found the article by Helen Dujardin very helpful and also there was some handy tips over at the blog Kitchen Musings. After lots, lots more reading I decided to try again. This time success!

I made them again (I can’t remember which recipe I used), this time I made orange and poppy seed ones. I ran my almond meal through the food processor so it was fine, I mixed the mixture a lot more this time and I artifically aged my egg whites by giving them 10 seconds in the microwave on a really low power level (I couldn’t be bothered waiting 24-48hrs! Overall I was very happy…yay for macarons!

See pictures of my successful macaron attempt below.

Before cooking…

And after cooking…

 

4 Responses to “Happy times with Macarons”

  1. blair November 30, 2009 at 8:21 pm #

    YYYYUUUUMMMM!!!

  2. Adela November 30, 2009 at 8:55 pm #

    Emily!!! I already love your blog!!! haha well done! I have been thinking of writing one of my own for a long long time . . . I guess I should actually start. But enough about me! I love your macarons and all the pictures of the desserts you make are unbelievable . . . I should upload my dessert pictures to my future blog too! haha

    -ADELA- aka already a fan of your blog! 🙂

    • Emily November 30, 2009 at 8:57 pm #

      Glad you like it Adela!…you should blog…it’s fun!…And it would be awesome to see your pictures!

  3. Bec Matheson November 30, 2009 at 9:10 pm #

    oh golly you’re good.

Leave a Reply

