Spiced Macarons

25 Jan

When looking back over my past blog entries I realised something, it’s been way to long since I last made macarons!

And so I decided it was time I gave them another go.

I particularly love chocolate and spices together, so I decided that this time I’d make spiced macarons with a spiced chocolate ganache filling.

I gathered my ingredients.

And then began the process of making them.

And so then the mix was ready to pipe on to trays and let sit to form a shell.

After the resting I put them in the oven to bake.

The first tray I think I slightly undercooked because they were difficult to get off the tray. To ensure the next lot didn’t stick I made sure I left them it a fair amount longer…and thus managed to over cook them (well done Emily). Luckily they didn’t burn, they’re just extremely crispy macarons.

I think I’m going to have a do a tad more macaron research (you’d be surprised at how much information there is out there about them). Find out what (apart from undercooking) makes them stick.

But enough of that, they were not destroyed and I think they ended up looking and tasting quite lovely once they were filled with the spiced chocolate ganache. I got a little carried away photographing them.

Here are a few of the better photos I took (there would have been even more if I was better at actually getting my camera to focus).

3 Responses to “Spiced Macarons”

  1. Bec Matheson January 25, 2010 at 6:06 pm #

    You’ll find it will help if you take the plate outside and get a bit more natural light em, and use your macro setting/rest your elbows against something to keep the camera really still.

    Can you please make me some cinnamon ones and also some peanut butter ones mostly because I am your delightful sister.

    Perhaps one day we should make a Macaroon books, I’ll do photography and design for you.

    • Emily January 25, 2010 at 6:12 pm #

      there’s no way you can come anywhere near my book unless you learn to spell it correctly!…heheh

  2. blairelizabeth January 25, 2010 at 10:35 pm #

    Please make them for me Em! They look so delicious!
    Oh, my mouth is watering…lol.

Leave a Reply

