Le Petit Gateau

8 Feb

Last year in my patisserie course we went on an excursion visiting various patisseries and chocolate shops around the city (a lovely excursion). One of the places we went was Le Petit Gateau on Little Collins Street in the city. It was quite lovely. They had beautiful pastries and cakes (simple but effective), wonderful coffee and a window through to the kitchen so you can watch the chefs and cooks at work (yay).

Today I went back there with two of my lovely friends (hmm…perhaps I should use a thesaurus for the word lovely), Heather and Blair. Along with various beverages, we tried a ‘Black Beauty’…it was quite splendid. I can’t remember exactly what was in it, but it did contain chocolate mousse (anything that contains chocolate mousse is already amazing to me) and some kind of delicious vanilla bean cream (and berry coulis). And then there was the the gold leaf on top!

Here’s my ‘not-so-clear’ picture of it:

… Yes, I like this place quite a lot (even though I have been there all of twice). So you can imagine my excitement when I see signs around William Angliss about a possible work experience opportunity there…fingers crossed, I desperately hope I get it!

2 Responses to “Le Petit Gateau”

  1. Naomi February 9, 2010 at 1:26 pm #

    that looks divine! ps – i love your blog 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It has been some time… « Spoon, Fork, Ladle - June 29, 2010

    […] I got that work experience at Le Petit Gateau (It was great (finished now), it deserves its own […]

Leave a Reply

