A macaron of the chocolate-orange variety

30 Jun

Recently I visited my lovely sister Bec and proceeded to raid her orange trees.

It was fun harvesting the fruit, but I may have gotten a little carried away, as I ended up with a gigantic bag full of oranges.

So now I’ve been pondering ways to use them.

So far I’ve made freshly squeezed orange juice and chocolate-orange macarons.

The macarons went something like this….

I started by weighing up the dry ingredients

And then I attempted to flavour the chocolate shells with orange zest by mixing zest in with the sugar to whip into the whites. I discovered this was a bad idea when my whites (or yellows with the zest) went super runny with the addition of zest….so I binned this step and started the whites again, this time with no zest.

Note the difference in textures below (the only difference being that zest was added to one). It’s amazing how a easily a meringue can be ruined!

After my second meringue was ready I mixed in the dry ingredients and then piped my batter onto a tray.

Then I proceeded to bake my macarons and was pretty happy with the over all result, however I overcooked the second tray quite a bit, which resulted in very chewy macaron shells.

I wanted to make them chocolate and orange, and since I was unsuccessful in adding orange flavour to the shells, I had to make the filling quite definite in flavour.

So I made orange curd (with Bec’s oranges), using both the zest and the juice of an orange. I added some cointreau from a tiny bottle we’ve had sitting in our pantry forever. And finally I melted in some dark chocolate….the resulting mixture was rather hard to stop myself from eating.

And there you have it….chocolate orange macarons.

*I used the chocolate macaron recipe from the very clever Mr David Lebovitz

9 Responses to “A macaron of the chocolate-orange variety”

  1. Ana June 30, 2010 at 12:50 am #

    ohmygoodness!
    They look and sound amazing!

  2. John June 30, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    Save me one? 😉

    • Emily June 30, 2010 at 6:05 pm #

      Pretty sure they won’t last till Friday!…hehe

  3. Peri Auburn July 1, 2010 at 12:32 am #

    Oh they look amazing em, your blog is inspiring me to bake more!
    I think you should add the recipe you do to these blogs to so we can all make them (seeing you don’t ever save us any!!)

    • Emily July 2, 2010 at 12:49 am #

      I did link the recipe for the chocolate macarons at the botton (the David Lebovitz link)
      xx

  4. Peri Auburn July 2, 2010 at 9:57 pm #

    My Nanny before she died, used to make turkish delight macarons, chocolate macarons with rose water, cream filling. Yummy.
    You have inspired me to to try my hand at her recipe. You make it look easy and you dont even have the supervision of a Nan when you make them..Well actually I will, cause my mum will help, cause she knows Nans recipe and she is technically a ‘Nan’ to my nephew…but it doesnt count as she is not MY Nan.

    ..So yeah we will blame her if they fail.

    • Emily July 2, 2010 at 10:39 pm #

      Turkish delight macarons sound amazing…I have thought I should try that flavour before (but when it comes to turkish delight I really want to try make turkish delight mousse, because the best dessert I ever ate was a chocolate mousse with a rose water jelly filling….oh my it was incredible)!

      I also really want to try peanut butter and jam macarons…filling wise they’d be super easy…it’s all pre-made!

      Good luck trying them…my first try of macarons was really quite sucessful (I’ve had a few failures since…hehe), be warned…it can get quite addictive making them!

  5. Peri Auburn July 3, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

    Hmm I took pictures for feedback from you of what i did wrong.
    They would not peel of the baking paper and the hardly rose at all..I will show you and see what you think.

    • Emily July 3, 2010 at 5:38 pm #

      well….there’s a million things that can go wrong…I’ll look and see if I can identify any particular problems!

Leave a Reply

