May the cake be with you (or rather in you)

2 Jul

A little while back now, my lovely friend Blair turned 21. Now Blair is slightly obsessed with Star Wars (I certainly don’t blame her….what’s not to love!), and so when she requested a birthday cake, we decided a Star Wars themed one was in order. It certainly fit with her party theme of 80’s movies.

Let me introduce you to Blair…isn’t she pretty! (this is one of my favourite photos of her….I didn’t take…I think she may have)

To claim that I designed this cake (or rather cupcakes) would be rather a large lie, I found a picture of the same cake on a google image search (I’m slightly in love with google image searches…particularly after I stubbled across one of my own macaron photos on there – it made me feel proud). I still don’t know who’s original design it is, but this is the photo I looked at.

I made a carrot cake base for the cupcakes and used a dollop of cream cheese icing to secure the fondant icing character toppers (that took an age to make!).

And here are some photos….I was rather pleased with the results!

(The following photos are compliments of my lovely friend Marita).

If anyone could be so kind as to identify the character on the left next to Darth Vadar it would be most appreciated. I made the cake and knew who everyone was except that one!

5 Responses to “May the cake be with you (or rather in you)”

  1. Peri Auburn July 2, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    is it jubba the hut?

    • Emily July 2, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

      Nah…Jabba the Hut is in the picture below (to the right of the Death Star)

  2. blairelizabeth July 3, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

    It’s Nute Gunray. Viceroy of the Trade Federation…at least I think it is. The eyes in the pic below throw me off a little now. Hmmmm…
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nute_Gunray

  3. burks July 5, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    I’m guessing Emperor Palpatine, considering the rest of the characters are only from the Original Trilogy.

    …whoops, let my SW nerd out!

    • Emily July 5, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

      Ah yes…that seems to make sense!

Leave a Reply

