Penguin Macarons

16 Jul

As some of you will know, I belong to a book club. In our book club we choose books from Popular Penguins (those ones with the orange covers). So it was quite exciting for us when the 75 new titles were announced. Our reading list just got 75 books longer!

My friend Blair suggested I make white and orange macarons for our next book club in honour of the new titles. Now Blair likes macarons quite a lot, and I think her suggestion was not solely in honour of the new titles, rather a sneaky excuse to get more macarons, however it seemed like a rather good idea so I ran with it.

After making orange and white ones, I decided I needed to make them even more penguin-ish, so I painted on names of some of the new books (short titles only) and some cute little penguins (I used black food dye mixed with alcohol so it dried quickly).

Here’s what I came up with… (Oh yeah, they were lightly spiced shells with vanilla and orange filling)

P.S. I must say, I was quite excited when I found out Popular Penguins had linked a photo of my macarons on twitter…horray!

2 Responses to “Penguin Macarons”

  1. Gemma Freeman July 17, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    Emily you inspire me!! Love the ones with little penguins…

  2. Desiree September 28, 2010 at 11:11 pm #

    Just came across your blog when googling macarons 🙂 luvvv your beautiful foodies!! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

